Super Yummy Gluten Free Fried Avocado Taco Recipe

How’s that for a mouthful of a title to lure you in?? 🙂

Since Ryan left, this has become a staple in my weekly menu. We were big on the fish tacos but I’ve been trying to eat everything in the fridge & freezer and not have to buy anything additional (other than produce, juice, milk, etc) so Costco bags of Tilipia are out. Fried avocado tacos, however are IN!

Here’s how it went down: Had the hankering for a fried avocado taco after eating at my favorite local joint, Mas Tacos. Googled “fried avocado”. Found this recipe from Emeril Legasse on Food Network’s website. Tweaked to make gluten free and taco form. Ate it. Amazing. Now I will share with you.

Gather your items:

Taco stuff:

1 avocado (fills about 3-4 tacos)

1/2 c. buttermilk (see recipe below)

cornmeal, rice flour & sorghum flower (3:1:1 ratio)

seasoning of some sort (I used Cavendar’s Greek Seasoning but you can also use Montreal Steak/Chicken Seasoning or seasoning salt)

3-4 soft corn tortillas

Tabasco sauce

Slaw:

red cabbage

red onion

cilantro

1 Tbs honey

1/4 c oil

lime juice, salt & pepper

Misc:

lots of cooking oil

little bit of olive oil

Prepare: Slice avocado and place in bowl. Cover with buttermilk and a few shakes of Tabasco. If you don’t have any buttermilk, cause who keeps that on hand??, you can make it super easy… 1/2 c. milk and a few TBS of lemon juice. Let sit for 5 minutes and viola! Let avocado sit in buttermilk sauce for about 30 minutes.

Mix cornmeal and flours together in shallow bowl. For those that are not GF, use regular flour.


Make the slaw: thinly slice onion, cabbage and cilantro. I used half a small red onion and a quarter red cabbage for 3 tacos. Mix dressing (oil, honey, lime juice, salt & pepper) and toss with veggies.

Cook the goods: Dredge avocado slices in cornmeal/flour mixture and place in pan with cooking oil about 1″ deep.

Fry until golden brown. Heat smaller pan with dollop of olive oil for frying corn tortillas. Corn tortillas are gross and flaky until you cook them which makes them soft and pliable… this step is a must! Lightly toast tortillas while avocado slices are cooking. You an also use flour tortillas but I don’t think they taste as good.

Assemble: Once the slices are done cooking, drain on paper towel and assemble tacos. I use only sour cream as a dressing (and lots of it!) but feel free to add whatever else. My husband would add green Tabasco sauce if he were here.I hope you enjoy these tacos as much as I do. The cornmeal really makes them stand out in my mind. I tried to fry the avocado with another type of flour before and the results were not as amazing as these. I had THREE last night, they were that good!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Super Yummy Gluten Free Fried Avocado Taco Recipe

  1. lauren says:

    I am going to make these this week!

  2. This looks delicious!! I plan on making it this week! Thanks so much for the recipe and easy to follow instructions! Have a great day!

    Found you by googling fried avacado tacos!

  3. Ha, I just saw your button of the black pug! So cute! I am dog sitting my parents dog right now which happens to be a black pug. Too funny!

  4. Juniper says:

    Found your blog through Joni’s and have been reading some of your back posts, a good friend of mine has Celiac’s and she loves tacos and I’m sure she’d LOVE this recipe, thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment