Homemade Yummy Ice Pops

I’ve been in bed most of the day with a sick toddler. While it has been hard, I am thankful that he is 16 months old and this is his first real illness. I’m not sure what it is, but he’s been battling a high fever and seems to have a sore throat. I got these great ice pop molds at Ikea for $1.99 and have enjoyed creating new and different recipes to try out. I’m a huge ice cream person so anything frozen and creamy makes me happy. Liam feels the same way and seriously lights up when I hand him one.
I’ve made a few others- pineapple and coconut milk layered, coconut water and strawberries, and strawberry banana. The last ones didn’t go over so well. I think they tasted kind of bland so I’ll probably add Greek yogurt next time.

These are Paleo friendly and consist of three ingredients: blueberries, honey and coconut milk. I used almost a whole can for these six pops but I suppose it depends on how many berries you add and the size of the mold. Here’s the super simple recipe!

Blueberry Bubble Ice Pops
1 can full fat coconut milk
2 T honey
Handful blueberries

20130613-172601.jpg
Place a few blueberries in the bottom of the pop mold. Pour coconut milk into bowl and mix in honey. You may want more or less sweetener so sweeten to taste. (You can choose to shake your can of coconut milk or don’t. I didn’t since I love how thick it is right out of the can. I’ve tried it both ways and it will work either way.)
20130613-172614.jpg
Pour milk mixture into molds. Tap the mold on the counter for a few seconds to get the air bubbles to rise. Fill to line, insert stick/handle and freeze!
20130613-172624.jpg
Depending on your freezer, it should take about 6 hours. Liam called these “bubble ice” so I’ve dubbed them Blueberry Bubble Ice Pops. You could also blend the ingredients which I will probably try next time.

20130613-205307.jpg

Enjoy!

20130613-205523.jpg

20130613-205534.jpg

20130613-205550.jpg

This entry was posted in Crafty, Creativity, Family, Food, Gluten Free, Health, Liam, Paleo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

