Social Media Diet

Some of you may have noticed I’m not on Facebook or Twitter as much as I have been the past few years. In fact, I deactivated my FB account the other day. Not sure if it’s a permanent decision or not but for now, it feels like what I need to do. Not everyone in the world needs to know what we are thinking at any given second. In fact, a lot of what goes on in our heads probably should be kept there! The fakeness, bragging, one-upping, condescending, and holier-than-thou attitudes and highlight reel status updates I’ve encountered on FB discourage me. They don’t help me to be a better person and fill my life with negativity I needn’t bother with.

So I’ve cut out. And since that moment, I’ve felt 100% better. I am more productive around the house, present with my family and focused on taking care of myself. It feels wonderful.

I stepped away from Twitter when Liam was about 4 months old when it became apparent to me I was spending far too much time with my face pointed towards my phone and not looking into the beautiful face of our son. I’m still on Instagram but that and my blogging are the social media outlets that work for me right now. I feel accomplished and want to share projects and milestones though my writing here on the blog. Sharing daily pictures and encouragement with my small group of IG moms is just the perfect mix for where I am right now.

So, no. I didn’t delete you. I deleted myself. If you need me, you can always comment here or shoot me an email! I’d love to hear your thoughts and experience “unplugging”.

This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Health, Home, Liam, Thankful and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Media Diet

  1. tarrtarr says:

    i think i should do this.

  2. I deleted my facebook account about 6 months ago. Was feeling “addicted” and smothered by it at the same time. It was such a negative place to be (except for pregnancy announcements, births and weddings); but those things were not worth the stay.

    Quitting it I think shows who your real friends are, because they are the ones that keep in touch after you go.

  3. Leslie says:

    Awesome! I love that you’re where you need to be and have this outlet here. This is such a special space you’ve made. I love that you are sharing all the little successes, (they really are big ones to us moms, right?) It’s so encouraging and inspiring. Your little pumpkin is about the sweetest thing in the world. Those chubby legs are killing me.

  4. Maggie says:

    Good for you Missy. Totally support you. Would love to see you again some time as well.

Leave a Reply

