Knocked Up – Week 22

Weight: Midwife appointment yesterday confirms I’ve packed on 15 lbs. Up to 145 now! Just started Week 23 so I’m pretty ok with that. It has been incredibly hard not focusing on my weight obsessively after trying to get it to go the other way for so long but I have to continue reminding myself I’m brewing a baby. One who needs amniotic fluid to swim around in and fat to stay warm and yummy vitamins and nutrients to grow strong and healthy. Considering how small I was before I got knocked up, I’m slowly resigning to the fact I’ve probably got another 20 lbs to go before this is all over. If you need me in like 6 months, I’ll be running. 😉

Funny thing is I’ve been exercising more the past month than I have the whole pregnancy combined and I still went up 4 lbs from last appointment. Which should go to show me that the gain is a necessity, not an option or something which can be controlled when it’s baby-related. I’m not gaining anywhere else (except my boobs, of course- hello!) but the rest of me is the same. My face may be a little bigger but bottom line- I’m not going to sacrifice Liam’s health for my vanity. I’ve bounced back after birth before.

Baby size & weight: Baby is right on track as is my uterus. We did fundal measurement at my appointment which has me at 23 weeks. Since I really don’t believe in due dates, I’m estimating we’ll meet Liam sometime mid-late February. Whether we’ll be doing that here in Chicago is still up in the air.

I liked this week’s description so I’ll share the whole thing with you-

  • The fetus reacts to loud sounds.
  • Baby starts having a regular sleeping and waking rhythm.
  • The mother’s movements can wake her baby.
  • Taste buds are forming on your baby’s tongue.
  • The baby is 28cm long (crown to heel) and weighs over 450 grams.
  • The weekly weight gain has increased to around 70 grams.

Your baby is about 11 inches long and weighs in at about 1 pound. The eyebrows and eyelids are fully developed, and the fingernails cover the fingertips. Sounds from a conversation are loud enough to be heard by the fetus in the uterus. If you talk, read, or sing to your baby, it’s reasonable to expect him or her to be able to hear you.

By this week, your waistline is definitely gone. The top of your uterus is now about 1 inch (3cm) above your bellybutton. Your enlarging abdomen is not too large and doesn’t get in your way much. You’re still able to bend over and to sit comfortably. (HA!) Walking shouldn’t be an effort. Your friends and relatives can tell you are pregnant. It would be hard to hide your condition.

Emotional: Blah. Work is busy and I’m tired. Weather has been bad. Days seem shorter & shorter. Haven’t been able to walk as long as I want. I get tons of sleep but still feel exhausted when I wake up. Welcome to motherhood.

Physical: Still great except for the tired part. My body doesn’t feel too large yet, I can sleep comfortably. I’ve been having some pelvic pain which I attribute to things stretching and moving. Feet are starting to swell and I had to get some new shoes (darn!) to accommodate.

Activity: The weather has taken a turn for the worse and I’m afraid winter may already be upon us here in Chicago. Still walking 30 minutes a day but it’s less than pleasant. My plan is to take advantage of the gym in my office once Ryan is done with school. That way he’ll be able to get home mid-afternoon and the boys won’t be stuck alone while I work out.

Baby Prep: Washed some clothes. That’s about it. Need to order some newborn pre-folds and start stripping them for absorbency but just haven’t really felt like it yet. Started looking at sleeping options because a co-sleeper isn’t going to work with our bed frame. Back to square one- Pack & Play or crib next to the bed. I want to be able to reach him without much effort and don’t want him rolling off once he’s in bed with us so anything we get is either going to be pushed right up against the bed or we’ll move the bed to the wall.

Birth Prep: Nothing this week. Childbirth classes start on Oct 30th! Need to get an exercise ball.

Other: I’m tired. Here’s my belly-

This entry was posted in Baby Bump, Pregnancy, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knocked Up – Week 22

  1. Jessica Voigt says:

    YAY! I always look forward to your latest blogs… Glad to hear things are going so well for you! You look absolutely adorable! 🙂 I was thinking of you today as I was researching jogging strollers… I think you and I should meet up at the end of next year for a half marathon somewhere… We can pick one and set a goal! I feel like a whale and you practically have 10 weeks on me. I’m nervous for my next appointment because all week my in-laws have been here and insistant on eating out. I tried to pick descent stuff but it’s slightly impossible sometimes! I don’t want to even look at the scale. I guess I could look back through your blogs but do you remember what you weighed at 16 weeks? Love you girl!!!!

Leave a Reply

