Knocked Up – Weeks 19 & 20

We had our 20 week ultrasound yesterday and I got moved a week up so I’m now “officially” in Week 21. The tech’s estimated due date for Baby A is 2/14 but since it’s not a two week difference, Midwife Debbie isn’t going change it. BUT, baby is at 21 weeks development.

Here are some pictures of my bump last week-

Really blurry but I wanted to get my overall shape.

Here is Baby A! Isn’t s/he cute?? (We’ll be revealing the sex on Saturday afternoon once we cut into the Reveal Cake at my baby shower!) It’s really difficult keeping it a secret, especially with everyone pestering me for the info!

Stats for the past week-

Weight: 143 according to the scale at school. +13 lbs @ 21 weeks… I think I’m doing really well. I can still fit into my pre-preggo pants with the Belly Band and yes, I am bragging about that fact. I am literally ALL baby so 13 lbs feels good to me.

Baby size & weight: 10.5 oz; 6.5 inches long from head to bottom; 10 from head to heels. FYI- For the first 20 weeks, when a baby’s legs are curled up against his torso and hard to measure, measurements are taken from the top of his head to his bottom — the “crown to rump” measurement. After 20 weeks, he’s measured from head to toe.

Emotional: Great! I feel like now that we know the sex, I can start to plan and visualize things better. We’re both obviously ecstatic and can’t wait to share our news with all our friends.

Physical: Fantastic. Truly. I have hit my 2nd trimester groove and I’m feeling awesome. Kinda like when I run and I’ve struggled through miles 1-4 (which are always the hardest for me). I close in on mile 5, I can feel my body changing and I can literally run for hours. That’s how I feel about the pregnancy. Oddly enough, we’re at Month 5 too! I have lots of energy, don’t hurt when I walk and don’t feel like taking a nap any chance I get.

Activity: Ramped things up this past week and a half with the walking. Since the weather cooled, I’ve been taking the boys on an off-leash walk around our neighborhood ponds. There are paved trails that meander in and out of tall grasses and we run and play back there once I’m home from work. I’ve been walking an average of 35-45 minutes and would estimate I cover about 2 miles. It’s my favorite part of the day. Only towards the end do I start to feel some pressure below my belly.

Baby Prep: Bought some BabyLegs on super sale this weekend. These puppies were 75% off! They are super convenient to put on newborns for easy diaper changes with a onesie and help protect older babies’ legs once they start crawling. Plus they keep the baby warm without having to wear footed pj’s all the time.

Birth Prep: Exercise has been my priority now that I’m feeling myself again. Determined to keep my weight gain low and strengthen my muscles for labor. Lots of squats at home and tailor sitting while at work. Found out we’re just having one which means we can go ahead with the homebirth. 🙂

Other: That’s all. We are so thankful for our healthy baby and I am really looking forward to celebrating with my friends & family this weekend.

This entry was posted in Baby Bump, DH, Family, Friends, homebirth, Midwife, Pregnancy, Running, Thankful and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knocked Up – Weeks 19 & 20

  1. Kendra says:

    Can’t wait to rub that belly!!!! You are looking fabulous SIL.

Leave a Reply

