Preggo – Week 13

I wrote this last week but didn’t get a Baby Bump picture so it’s just now getting posted on Monday. Camping pics to follow!

Obviously I spoke WAY too soon about pain levels during pregnancy last week because oh wow. This week started the lovely phenomenon known as round ligament pain. For those of you who haven’t been pregnant or were lucky enough to experience minor RLP, let me tell you. This shit is NOT to be messed with. Here’s the definition on Baby Center:

“Round ligament pain generally refers to a brief, sharp, stabbing pain or a longer-lasting dull ache that pregnant women commonly feel in the lower abdomen or groin, starting in the second trimester.

You may feel round ligament pain as a short jabbing sensation if you suddenly change position, such as when you’re getting out of bed or out of a chair or when you cough, roll over in bed, or get out of the bathtub. You may feel it as a dull ache after a particularly active day — when you’ve been walking a lot or doing some other physical activity.

The round ligaments surround your uterus in your pelvis. As your uterus grows during pregnancy, the ligaments stretch and thicken to accommodate and support it. These changes can occasionally cause pain on one or both sides of your abdomen.

You may feel the pain starting from deep inside your groin, moving upward and outward on either side to the top of your hips. The pain is internal, but if you were to trace it on your skin, it would follow the bikini line on a very high-cut bathing suit.”

Umm… brief?? Short jabbing? I wish! Those suckers have been stabbing me for the past 48 hours! It’s hard for me to walk because it feels like someone is kicking me in the lower abdomen. Heat helps but lying down is pretty much the only thing that really makes it feel better. Tylenol dulls it but doesn’t take away the pain entirely.

So that’s what I’ve been dealing with the past few days. Yay for second trimester ailments!

This week I’m SURE I’ve gained weight. I look bigger and people at work have started commenting that I’m “filling out”. Our scale is wack at home so I’ll just post next week after my midwife appointment on Tuesday. Hoping we can hear the heartbeat again! 🙂

Eating normal, drinking lots of tea. I’m allowing myself one caffeinated drink a day so I usually pick black iced tea. Sometimes coffee if the morning requires it. Still addicted to hard candy and peeing every 2 hours, sometimes more.

Definitely felt baby movement this week and once last! It’s not frequent or even very obvious but I’ll notice it when I’m lying still at night or at work and it makes me smile. I can’t wait until I can feel him more. I loved that part of pregnancy. It’s a crazy feeling!

Ryan & I are going camping this weekend with the boys and I’m so excited! I spent the week packing and preparing meals. Tonight I’ll do the final touches and Ryan will pack the camper tomorrow while I’m at work. Then we’re off! Hopefully the weather will hold but either way, we’re getting outta Great Lakes for a weekend and that’s all that matters. Though sun would be nice…

That’s all she wrote.

Baby Bump Week #13- here you go! Yay for super dark work bathroom pics. We have terrible mirror placement in our home.


This entry was posted in Baby Bump, Camper, DH, Food, Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

