Preggo – Week 12

Week 12 of pregnancy is coming to a close. And thus starts the second trimester! Pretty excited about this as I’m in the awkward stage of feeling fat and not pregnant. I look like I have a serious beer belly. I know I shouldn’t care with others think, but after working so hard to get skinny, I’m super self-conscious to feel “fat” again. I’ll know when a stranger asks when I’m due that I am truly obviously pregnant. Though my co-workers say I’m definitely showing.

I am hopeful the second trimester will be a good few months for both me and Baby A. My nausea is all but gone and my tiredness is in the somewhat normal range though I’m sure Ryan would not agree! I honestly can’t stay awake past 10pm. I still take it easy, lying down when I feel weak, going to sleep when I feel tired and being active when I have energy. I’m trying to listen to my body and not push things just because I always have. This is a lesson in temperance.

One thing I have felt really great about is my pain levels. As you may have read before, I’ve struggled with significant chronic pain for many many years. After seeing countless doctors and therapists, I was able to get a handle on things with a natural approach (Cat’s Claw, Resveratol, lots of Vitamin D, and other immuno boosting remedies). I also used pain meds to combat the lingering back and shoulder pain. After about six months on this treatment, I was able to start running again regularly. Despite my scoliosis, the pain had significantly subsided to a somewhat manageable level. Once I got pregnant of course I stopped all medications and held my breath to see what happened.

One of my high school friends has been dealing with similar issues (diagnosed as Fibromyalgia) and had a horrible time when she got pregnant. I was worried with the influx in hormones I would be facing the same 9 month sentence. Thankfully, gracefully, blessedly I have not dealt with any significant pain levels since getting knocked up! I still have headaches occasionally which are managed with Tylenol but my back, hip and shoulder pain has been very minimal. Stretching and heat are all it takes to get me feeling normal again.

It’s been a rough few months for me and I am so thankful to not have chronic pain added on top of my other ailments. There is no way I could work with morning (read: all day) sickness and severe back pain. Taking anything other than Tylenol is out of the question so I would’ve just had to suffer. From my research, there’s a 50/50 chance I would either be completely ok or in even more pain because of the influx of hormones during pregnancy. I am so grateful to be the first.

So… let’s see. Stats- Weight: no change from last week. Went to the podiatrist today and weighed in 4 lbs more than I did back in June. I know this will all change with the 2nd trimester so bring it on weight gain!! 🙂

Foods: back to eating pretty much everything with no nausea issues. I eat a salad everyday and a TON of fruit as snacks throughout the day. We eat fish for dinner or sometimes chicken or steak. Fridays are our date night so we usually go out if Ryan doesn’t have duty. Currently addicted to drinking Starbucks Passion tea every.single.day. I make it at home. Unsweetened without water and it’s DELICIOUS! I’ll probably get sick of it soon but it gives me 20oz of liquid towards my goal of 80.

I pee every 2 hours at night. So much for REM sleep, huh? I guess I can kiss that goodbye for awhile anyway. Work is fine except for my temporary part-time co-worker who is miserable and aims to make my life so when she’s there. Needless to say I dread Mondays & Thursdays, which are the days she works. I cannot wait until we replace her…

Working on the baby registry this week has been quite the stressor. I feel like there is so much out there I don’t know what’s necessary and what we can do without. I like to think we’ll be minimalist parents who won’t need a lot of stuff but I have no clue! I don’t know what cloth diaper system to use. I don’t know what jogging stroller to pick. I don’t know if I want to make our crib bumper and quilt or buy one. How many swaddles does one kid need? Burp rags? Pacifiers? ARGH!

In sad news, I had to have my toenail removed the other day. After my half marathon (which I want everyone to know I ran while PREGNANT!) it was so damaged, it finally gave up. It was a little strange having my boss remove it (in the clinic of course) with one of our students assisting but hey, that’s what I get working at a medical university! I won’t even let Ryan look at it and keep a band-aid on it all the time so sorry, no pictures. 😉 Good news is my pregnancy is helping it grow out twice as fast as it typically would so I should have a real nail by my third trimester.

Guess that’s all for now. We’re going camping next weekend and I’m pretty pumped!! We’ll be renting one of these puppies from the Navy base and heading to middle IL for some R&R Friday – Sunday.

And without further adieu… Baby Bump Week #12!

I look like a total dork I realize but this was the best of the bunch, I promise! And I am confused as to how my bubble butt looks so weird and flat now? Ryan says its cause my belly is so big it makes my butt look like a board. (not really his words but you get the idea) Anyway. I’m huge and big and off to buy some more maternity pants cause I’m tired of wearing the same pair to work everyday!

This entry was posted in Baby Bump, Camper, DH, Food, Health, Pregnancy, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Preggo – Week 12

  1. Erica Fisher says:

    Did you steal the Passion tea idea from me? That’s all I drank when I was hard-core dieting and I am back to drinking it now. I have yet to get sick of it – it’s sooooo good!

  2. ChicBabyPosh says:

    I totally felt the “fat” stage around the same time too. Finally starting to feel more pregnant now 🙂

  3. Kendra says:

    You look ADORABLE!!! And I am confused…. how do you drink/ make passion tea without water?!? Please explain barista Melissa.

    • Ahh yes, so when you order Passion tea at the ‘Bux they do half water half tea because they make the tea at double strength (so that it lasts longer and they don’t have humongous pitchers sitting on the counter). I like to keep it double strength and let the ice do the diluting. And I think I need some right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

