Preggo – Week 10

Little Baby A is now the size of a kumquat and has completed the most important phase of development, according to my Pregnancy phone app. πŸ˜‰ I have been feeling MUCH better this past week than I have in months. I have my appetite back, crave foods and then actually want to eat them. And bonus- I’m not revolted at the mere thought of food! I have energy enough to work out and have been sleeping like a log. Already at the end of week 10, I don’t show very much in the morning but by early afternoon, I look like a house. This was taken after work one day this week:

My rundown-

Days: up at 7:30, walk the boys ~20 minutes, actually make breakfast (smoothies, oatmeal, sausages, biscuits, eggs- not all on the same day!) and sit down to eat it while watching the “news”. I work 9-5 & come home for lunch. Sometimes I need a nap, some days I’m ok and enjoy my lunch with the boys on the back patio.

Nights: Haven’t been able to stay up past 9:30; still up 3 times on average to pee

Exercise: Walking 30-45 min or doing 60 min pre-natal Yoga everyday after work

Side story: I went for a walk yesterday, feeling great, iPod blaring. Started down the trail I used to run and felt so energetic, I decided to walk the whole thing which is about 1.5 miles one way. Wouldn’t have been a problem normally but I haven’t been exercising the past few weeks cause of my nausea so I got in a little over my head. Had to pee like CRAZY, was tired and didn’t have my phone to call Ryan for assistance. Of course, I’m a beast so I pushed through and got home in one piece 45 minutes later but I was e-x-h-a-u-s-t-e-d. Ended up passing out around 8:45 last night. Oops.

Regular food cravings: Changes from day to day but I’ve been craving and eating real, nutritious food which is a good thing. No McD’s for this baby! We shopped at Whole Foods last weekend and I’m planning a Trader Joe’s trip this coming. Having good ingredients on hand makes it so much easier to be creative and cook healthy meals.

Missing: my family & friends… big time. I think this experience would be a lot easier if I were surrounded by people that love me. Ryan does a great job but he can’t be everything to me, nor should he! I’ve been dealing with some pretty heavy emotions the past few days and am blessed to have friends who can speak the truth when I need it but I sure wish it were easier to see them in person. I’m in desperate need of a SweetWater date with my ladies!

No baby movement yet… I thought I felt something but it was just gas. We did hear a heartbeat at my midwife appointment last Saturday! She was able to locate it quickly at the top of my uterus and it was strong and loud. She was surprised at both since I was 9 weeks at the time and her Doppler usually only picks up heartbeats after 11 or 12. It was really exciting and I even recorded it and was able to send it to my family. πŸ™‚ What did we ever do without iPhones??

Weight: gained 4 lbs from a month ago so I’m right on track! Apparently I’m supposed to gain a pound a week for the first trimester but it honestly feels like I’ve gained three times that amount.

All in all, I’m trying to learn the art of balance. How to work out without becoming exhausted. How to sleep as much as I need and still be able to see my husband. How to eat good food without eating too much or too little. Remembering to take my supplements and drink enough water. Knowing when to put my feet up and when I’m just being lazy. When the boys want my love and when they need to play. Putting Ryan’s needs above household tasks. Learning how to say “no” or “I can’t do that” with grace and when to ask for help- emotional and physical. It’s a work in progress.

Now someone please take this bag of Lifesavers away before I finish them.

This entry was posted in Baby Bump, DH, Dogs, Family, Food, Friends, Health, Pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

