Pregnancy FAQ’s

Was this pregnancy planned?

Yes! I moved up here April 30th. We found out I was pregnant June 15th… You can do the math but it basically means it took all of 2 weeks to conceive Baby A. Mind you my girlfriends have called me Fertile Myrtle for about 13 years (Aden’s conception was a one shot deal) and I’m just thankful I can live up to the title. I was definitely a little worried things would take longer and be more difficult to conceive but we are blessed in the fact that it was neither of those things. My heart breaks for the families who try time and time again to have a little one of their own. Believe me. I understand that first hand. I gave my first born to a family just like that. But this time it’s my turn. And I have been blessed with fertile eggs. So thanks Mom & Dad. (Oh, and good job Ryan.) 😉

Are you really having a homebirth? Aren’t you scared?

Yes! and sometimes. Obviously it’s a little frightening to break away from the norm (which has only become the norm in the past few decades) and have a homebirth but I feel very strongly about being surrounded by our things, in our home, in a non-stressful environment. Being in the hospital last week for dehydration confirmed our stance even more. I was offered Zofran for nausea not one, not two but on five separate occasions. Even after declining it in the saline solution, the doctor still gave me a prescription for it. No means no people! I’m sure my morning sickness is almost over anyway and no more pukey for me. Drinking Vitamin Water as I type this.

Are you going to find out the sex?

No. We made the decision years ago we wanted to have it be a surprise. We’re picking out two boy names and two girls names and will choose which one when we see his/her face.

What are they?

Not telling so you can’t steal them. 😉

How has this pregnancy felt different than your first?

Worlds of difference in many ways. I have a TON more nausea than I did with Aden. When I was this far with Aden I would feel sickish around noon (plus the cafeteria made me feel sick with the smell) so I’d go lie down in the nurse’s station. That was it. My appetite was normal, I wasn’t all that tired that I remember and since I was like 110 lbs I had zero belly until like 4 months and this time it’s hard to hide my baby bump at 9 weeks!

Of course this one is easier in other ways because I have Ryan supporting me and making sure I’m feeling ok, getting sleep, eating, etc. Emotionally it’s night and day. I’m not in this alone which is a feeling I can’t entirely put into words quite yet. I’m working on verbalizing my emotions as I go through this pregnancy because I have a feeling some strong ones will surface but I am so thrilled about having a baby I think we’ll be just fine.

Favorite pregnancy memory so far?

I have two. Kendra (my sister-in-law) screaming her face off when I told her the news. Best reaction ever. Also when Aden called me to say congratulations. He sounded so genuinely happy for me, it was too sweet for words. He’s honestly such a well-adjusted kid. I feel beyond blessed. It’s hard to believe it’s been 13 years since I was last pregnant. I hope that shows how NOT ready I was to be a mom when he was born! But I am now… and for that I am thankful.

What do you survive on if everything seems gross?

Precious little. Lifesavers. Iced tea (mint & peach), water with lime, ice cream, bagels, toast, cheese & gluten free crackers, Chobani yogurt, and whatever I can stomach that evening for dinner.

Will you be hippie parents since you’re homebirthing and all?

We will co-sleep, breast-feed, cloth diaper, baby-wear, EC and all around practice attachment parenting. So I guess yes. It’s what we feel is best and I am fortunate enough to have the option to stay at home and be a full-time Mom. Ryan’s daily sacrifices and enlistment in the Navy enables us to have a family like we always wanted and I am just so damn lucky. Now I just need to get through this next month. 2nd trimester is always easier, right??

This entry was posted in Baby Bump, DH, Family, homebirth, Navy, Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pregnancy FAQ’s

  1. Joni says:

    Yes. The second trimester is easier. Almost always. I’ll be right behind you. Don’t be afraid of homebirth, be empowered, and excited. Homebirth is awesome. Like so awesome. Also I’m undecided on finding out gender. I think I might get bullied into it though. Sigh.

  2. Kendra says:

    Hehe, I just couldn’t contain my excitement! Love you SIL!

  3. Jess Voigt says:

    I’m impressed girl! 🙂 that is going to be one lucky baby for sure! I hope I can soon tell you that I’m knocked up!!!! Month two of trying, but then the deployment…. 😦 I hope it happens before he leaves… I am definitely going to try to see you when I visit! I will keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

