Preggo – Week 8

This week started off nice enough. We went to the pool.

We had a huge storm that knocked out our power for a few hours and got me out of work for 2 days.

My garden has grown quite a bit.

There’s my cherry ‘maters.

Jalapeno peppers & cilantro ready for salsa!

Mr. Stripey heirloom tomato blossoms

Cucumber blossoms

And then I went and got myself dehydrated so badly I wound up in the hospital today. I woke up feeling essentially hungover this morning. My mouth was dry, I was hot and as soon as I drank water I threw it up. I NEVER throw up (like I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve puked in all my 31 years) so I knew right away there was a problem. I tried walking the dogs and ended up dry heaving during that endeavor. I called my midwife Debbie for advice. She said I should come into her office where she could hook me up to an IV with fluids and B vitamins.

I got there around 9am with two other women who had appointments. I waited patiently for 30 minutes while slowly sipping on coconut water with peach & mango (yum!). Once I was lying down on the comfy couch, shoes off, breeze blowing, I was prepared to have the IV inserted in all my midwifery glory. Unfortunately, my veins were not. Nurse Amy tried once and my vein blew. Debbie tried another vein in my arm and one in my hand which both blew. Then they were out of needles and told me to head to the ER. There was nothing more they could do for me.

Getting sicker by the minute, I quickly drove to Northwestern Hospital about 10 minutes away and checked into the ER. Apparently women in early pregnancy with dehydration isn’t a priority because I ended up waiting for another 20 but finally they called me back. Nurse #1 attempted vein puncture #4 & #5. Nurse #2 painfully attempted #6 and finally found a willing vein in the middle of my inner forearm with #7. She had to use the second to smallest gauge needle because my veins kept collapsing once the fluid tried to enter. She said she’s never had to use the newborn needle on an adult before. Great.

Ryan was able to come to the hospital in time for Nurse #2 to come in and do her worst. He held my hand while I cringed and gritted my teeth. Soon the pain was over and the fluid was going in. A few hours later I was released and feeling better. Definitely not 100% but much better than this morning. And I’m drinking TONS o’ fluids to ensure I won’t end up back there.

Me in the hospital bed.

My doctor was intrigued by my reading choice. I’m sure she was skeptical especially considering I’d already landed in the ER a mere 8 weeks into my pregnancy but I’m hoping this was a fluke. I promise to do better, Baby A.

Today’s scare was basically a culmination of how crappy I’ve been feeling the past few weeks. Haven’t been throwing up but have been “green” as my friend Joni says. I feel perpetually sea sick. Something sounds good and then it repulses me. I eat something once and never want to see it again. I wake up in the morning and want to die but force myself to get up and eat even though nothing sounds good. I’m tired by 7pm and asleep by 9:30. Ryan has been so great helping out even though he often comes home after working 12-13 hour days and is tired too. He is so sweet to me and the boys. He has energy to play with them when I just lie comatose on the couch. How do people do this pregnancy thing alone??

In other news, I ended up telling my work that I was expecting. Much earlier than I would have normally but I was offered a promotion and I felt strange lying about why I was turning it down. I like to think of myself as a person with integrity and this just went against what made me comfortable. My boss had already guessed I was either pregnant or moving so I’m glad I told her the truth. Kinda sucks that the very next day I wound up in the hospital but at least she knows!

That’s all for now. My momma’s coming to visit this weekend and I am so excited to have her here. Not sure what we’ll do because it’s gonna be super hot but I’m thinking pool, botanical garden & walk along Lake Michigan. Keep it low key for the sensitive pregnant woman.

This entry was posted in DH, Food, Health, Midwife, Pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Preggo – Week 8

  1. Joni says:

    Green. Yeah that’s it. I’m glad you’ve got a hubby to help and love on you. I won’t lie, pregnant with four kids and one of them a little baby? Yeah. Hard. Good news for you the sickness peaks around nine weeks usually. So should be getting better soon.

    DRINK WATER πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  2. Michelle says:

    Life is never boring for you, is it? πŸ˜‰
    You are SO SO lucky Ryan is around. I’m glad he’s taking good care of you!

  3. Tasha says:

    You got this Missy!! πŸ™‚

  4. Kendra says:

    GLAD YOU’RE FEELING BETTER!

Leave a Reply

