Turns out Southwest Does Have a Heart…

and an affinity for Twitter.

So after I posted this about our situation with Southwest, I also utilized my social media savvy and sent them a few Tweets linking up my blog post. I figured if we’d just spent 2+ hours of our time dealing with customer service reps who obviously didn’t have any authority (or willingness) to help us, I’d go to the top. After the Kevin Smith debacle, I knew that Southwest monitored their Twitter and I used it to my advantage.

Lest you think I am a catty bitch who pulls the military card whenever I want, you can go ahead and stop now. This is the first time I have ever done it and it was legitimately related to my husband’s service in the Navy. We had credits for a year that he hasn’t been able to use for the past 6 months because he’s been in boot camp & in school. Seems fair they would extend an extra few days as a courtesy so we can use the money we paid, right?

So after I got this back from Southwest:

Southwest Airlines: Hey Missy, just read your blog post. I’m really sorry we were unable to extend. I’ll send you a DM (direct message) so we can discuss.
I sent them my first & last name and heard from a customer service head honcho that afternoon. He left a message and followed up the next day. I have to say I’m pretty surprised at what they offered us because I was sure we were going to have to pay $50 to have the funds extended but Kim went one better- he refunded us our $155! For non-refundable tickets purchased in June of 2010. I was pleasantly surprised and excited that they were so willing and able to work with us. I hate that I had to take extreme measures but we had hit a ceiling in the customer service phone tree. No one would let us speak with a supervisor. We were told over and over again that our problem was not important enough to warrant a callback. Perhaps some re-training for your phone reps is in order, eh Southwest?
Thanks to everyone who worked with us and came up with a solution that was acceptable to both parties. We’re not talking about a lot of money, but when you’re a military family, every bit helps.
This entry was posted in DH, Navy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turns out Southwest Does Have a Heart…

  1. Michelle says:

    Way to go!

  2. Glad we were able to help out! I’ll share this post with Kim : )

    -Christi
    @southwestair

  3. mere... says:

    So glad this situation worked out for you! I book travel for a living and SW is actually the only airline I am willing to deal with when it comes to personal travel. I was so bummed out to see that you had had a run in with them. While Tyler was going through Boot Camp and A/C Schools, both United and American really screwed me over with their scheduling and flight cancellations and that’s when I officially switched to using SW for all my personal travel, even the few times they aren’t cheaper. I can totally relate to your frustrations (even though it was toward a different company). I know how hard it is to deal with the Navy’s scheduling (seeing as they DON’T schedule) and sometimes those airlines are your only link to your s.o. or your time together – I really wish everyone was more friendly to the fact that our lives aren’t controlled by us.

Leave a Reply

