Oh, Colin Hay

If any of you watch Scrubs, you have heard Colin Hay’s unique and very identifiable voice. His lyrics often speak to me but this song in particular speaks to my heart, in the place I am right now. It’s hard to listen to the song without tearing up. Tonight, I want to share it with you. I hope you love it as much as I do.

Any minute now my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll stand on the bow
And feel the waves come crashing
Come crashing down, down, down on me

And you said,”Be still, my love
Open up your heart
Let the light shine in”
Don’t you understand?
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

When I awoke today suddenly nothing happened
But in my dreams I slew the dragon
And down this beaten path
And up this cobbled lane
I’m walking in my own footsteps once again

And you say,”Just be here now
Forget about the past
Your mask is wearing thin”
Let me throw one more dice
I know that I can win
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

Any minute now my ship is coming in

I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll check my machine
There’s sure to be that call
It’s gonna happen soon, soon, oh so very soon
It’s just that times are lean

And you say,”Be still, my love
Open up your heart
Let the light shine in”
Don’t you understand?
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

On a clear day
I can see, see a very long way

This entry was posted in Music, Stuff I Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, Colin Hay

  1. I LOVE Colin Hay and Men at Work. Overkill is one of my favorite songs evah! Love his voice.

  2. Kendra says:

    One of my favorite songs. As if I wasn’t enough of a mess today this just put me over the edge!

Leave a Reply

