Gluten Free Goodness!

Welcome to Day 2 in my “Stuff I Love” series. My giveaway is going mildly well. I think I have like 8 people so… I guess it’s good for those who entered! Not so good for my poor, sad blog. For those of you lurkers… reading but not commenting- Just Do It! You can even win something. πŸ™‚

Moving on… as many of you know I am gluten free. I’ve been eating this way for about a year and a half. My sister-in-law is mostly to thank/blame for this change and my life has been better because of it. Things weren’t as “regular” as they should have been… like, at ALL. Once I started researching Celiac and gluten intoleranceΒ  and talking with Kendra, I realized that I shouldn’t be treating the symptom but getting to the real issue. Taking prescription medications in order to perform normal bodily functions at age 28 was a little depressing. I finally had a biopsy done which showed increased antibody levels but not high enough to be diagnosed with Celiac disease. The doctor didn’t seem convinced that I truly had a problem and said I should continue taking the prescriptions. No thank you Dr. Money Maker.

What happened next may shock you.

On my own, WITHOUT DOCTOR SUPERVISION I made The Big Switch.

Purged the house of all gluten-laden foods.

Got hubs on board.

Stocked the pantry with gluten-free options so I wouldn’t starve.

Told anyone who would listen to me about my new lease on life.

Scoped out all the best gluten free foods, restaurants, drinks and started to enjoy eating again.

Who knew you didn’t have to end each meal with a stomach ache??

To date, I’ve been successful in converting my brother Joshua, who ironically is married to that very sister-in-law who has Celiac’s and helped me. She never wanted to change him just because she had to eat a certain way… I didn’t feel the same conviction. I felt like everyone who was suffering with stomach and digestive issues needed to know that you don’t have to!! I also made believers out of my two sisters (Michelle is full gluten free; Anna is half on board), my mom, and best friend Lauren. Man, I am persuasive. πŸ™‚ Granted, they all eventually converted for their own health reasons but I’d like to think it was my urging and personal experience that helped them along.

My sister Michelle lost like 20 pounds or something crazy once she went on it, I lost a few but mostly got rid of my pooch belly and my mom reports she recently dropped a pant size. I’m well aware that it’s “all the rage” now as a diet trend, but to be honest, it’s a better way of life. I barely even think about it anymore. Of course I cheat every now and again, like when we were in Chicago and I had to eat a stuffed pizza with the family, but for 99% of the time I’m straight laced.

More and more research is coming out about gluten and it’s horrific effect on the health of our society. It is in literally everything that we eat and even cosmetics. The belief is that over-exposure has pushed many people’s immune systems over the edge. I personally think my intolerance is closely linked to my Lyme’s and Thyroid disease but others may experience just the digestive problems. If you’re interested in reading more about the growing epidemic here’s a link with lot of good material:

http://www.naturalnews.com/gluten.html

I’ll spare you the intimate details of my struggle, but if you have any questions about my personal experiences before and after The Big Switch, please email me ImAProudNavyWife@gmail.com. I’m happy to make a believer out of you too!

I have lots of favorite go-to snacks that I have on hand. I keep pistachios, corn Chex and cinnamon dots on my desk for easy snacking but my recently discovered favorite is a new version of Blue Diamond crackers- BARBEQUE!!!

These things are awesome. They have just the right amount of flavor without being too overpowering or bland. I like Blue Diamond’s other flavors for putting cheese and other stuff on but they’re not that great just on their own.

Enter BARBEQUE!!

These are like chips but much more filling so you don’t feel like you need to eat the whole box. They are made from nuts so they have more to them than just simple potato chips. Here’s the ingredients list:

I can pronounce all the ingredients on this label. I’m sure Michael Pollan would suggest I eat something closer to real food, but sometimes you just need a good, old fashioned snack! This is definitely one of those. I also bought the Cheddar version and hope it’s as yummy as this one.

Get out there and try their flavors, you won’t be disappointed. I’m interested specifically in the Country Ranch so let me know if you’ve had it!

This entry was posted in Health, Stuff I Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gluten Free Goodness!

  1. lauren says:

    Thank you for converting me πŸ™‚ I will never go back! I have taken this diet thing a few steps further though and am now gluten, dairy, yeast and sugar free. The hubby and I are thinking of trying a raw diet. Look what you’ve created (yes, i blame you πŸ˜‰

    I love those crackers but can’t eat them because they have sugar in them 😦 Why is there sugar in EVERYTHING?!

  2. If anyone can do it, you can!! Raw diets are so SO good for you but I know I could never keep up with it. Maybe you can convince me after you try it. πŸ˜‰

  3. the Don says:

    It is a delight to see the positive impact this diet choice has made for the 5 most important women in my life, as well as my son – it is also a delight not to feel the necessity to follow them to the land of no-gluten as good bourbon and beer is not gluten free.
    Caleb and I are holding out for urgent medical necessity before jumping on the train πŸ™‚ Keep your TEOTWAYKY rice and quinoa stocks full and fresh.

  4. Michelle says:

    Haha I like Dad’s post. Yay GF! I had to cheat this weekend during FTX and spent the better part of that night curled up in a ball complaining to Anna. At least we’re seniors and I wasn’t doing anything important!

  5. Lois says:

    I have celiac disease and found out about it only about 5 years ago. I applaud anyone who goes on this “diet” without being forced to. I couldn’t do it! I’m so glad your tummy doesn’t hurt after meals anymore, isn’t it grand?

Leave a Reply

