Thankful- Day 30 (And The Story of “We”)

My greatest earthly blessing is my sweet husband, Ryan. I am thankful for him today and every day. We’ve been through many ups and downs in the six years we’ve been together but I can honestly say that with each year, it keeps getting better. I can’t wait to be celebrating 60 years of marriage like my grandparents, savoring every moment spent together. We’ve just entered into a brand new and exciting chapter of our lives and with every adventure and experience, I realize just how important he is to me. He is the love of my life, my rock, and il mio cuore (my heart).

Here is our story.

Ryan and I met the summer of 2005 at Denny’s. We fell in love. The end.

The scene of our first kiss:

We did fun couple stuff like camping and concerts. I may or may not have briefly dated his best friend and band mate before we became “official”. I didn’t want to seem too available!

We went on a cruise in March of 2006.

Tequila made us break up on said cruise. Fun vacation!

But we got back together a few weeks later.

We got a turtle named Leanne and another named Tina.

We broke up again, and got back together.

Went on another cruise. (Did not break up this time)

But we DID break up again a few months after in the summer of 2007. Unfortunately we still had concert tickets for a festival that we both still wanted to go to. I wasn’t interested in getting back together at the beginning of the weekend but by the end, I guess I had changed my mind. Someone initiated a kiss in the middle of the crowd during a set but I’m not sure who… 😉

During the time before and after the festival, Ryan wooed me for quite some time. This is one of the emails he sent in his efforts to win me back. He said that this would be us if I would give him another chance. It worked and I agreed to go on a date with him.

On the date, sometime in early September, he asked me to marry him. He didn’t make it a big deal, no one knee grand gestures, just a question. Simple and completely honest.

I was shocked to say the least. We were broken up and here he was proposing! I needed some time to think. That was Sunday night. We had another date for Friday night. We went to see a band at an outdoor event where I told him “yes” and thanked him for being so patient. I knew I wanted to be with him and couldn’t picture my life without him, it just took a few days to acclimate to the idea of being married.

My non-traditional engagement ring (my birthstone garnet).

photo by Lauren Ungaro

We got married in Arlington, VA on December 29, 2007

We went on our honeymoon in Dominican Republic

We moved to Leesburg, VA and got Jeffrey.

We moved again.

We went to Hawaii. (My second favorite place on Earth.)

We moved to Nashville.

We got Charlie.

We moved again! (We will have no trouble with military nomadic lifestyle…)

We enjoyed Nashville.

We bought a camper and (I) named her Scarlett.

And then my husband went and joined the Navy.

That brings us up to date. If you follow along, you’ll get to ride shotgun and watch us experience the next few years as we start a family and enter into For Real Adulthood.

I love you baby. Thank you for loving me too.

 

This entry was posted in DH, Thankful and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful- Day 30 (And The Story of “We”)

  1. L. Hustle says:

    Awesome love story! Glad you got back together even after the tequila incident, that stuff will do bad things to ya.

  2. Jane Eboch says:

    What a love story! Praying for many years of happiness and blessings for you two!

  3. lauren says:

    Love this post!

  4. Tasha says:

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Love ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

