I’m a Beast!

I did it! I ran double digits all by myself! It took every last ounce of motivation I had, but I completed 10 miles today in 2:24. Mr. Holter was there to keep me company and track how my heart reacted to the exercise. I’ll tell you, it was really difficult for a few miles. It was HOT and I was having trouble catching my breath after a stretch of running. I like to alternate between running and walking when necessary, especially with long runs. There’s no way I’ll be able to run the entire distance so my method is this:

– RUN for as long as possible right up until I feel like I can’t go on (usually the 1.5 mile point)

– WALK for 10-20 seconds, allowing my heart slow down a tad and give me a chance to catch my breath (usually about 10-20 seconds). It seems to be the right combination during a long run. Of course, anything shorter, like a 5K, I just run the entire distance. Power through. 🙂

I think I forgot to mention in my previous post about my health issues that I have pretty bad asthma. It is exercise and allergy induced, which means I have to have a trigger for it to be an issue. Namely- CATS. I’ve only had one incident where I was just sitting at home and had an attack out of nowhere. I was diagnosed when I was 14 and it took until I was 27 to have it truly under control. Under control in this case doesn’t mean I don’t have attacks or issues with breathing, but I know when to expect them and how to treat them without jumping for the Albuteral inhaler everytime.

The only thing that has worked for me (other than my rescue Albuteral inhaler) is Singular which has given me a new lease on life! It calms down the inflammation in my lungs on a continual basis so when I start exercising, there’s less of a need for the rescue inhaler. I’m pretty amazed at the stuff because I’m fairly certain it is the lynchpin holding this whole dog and pony show together.

So, despite all the health issues I’ve encountered- Asthma, Lyme’s, scoliosis, I’m pressing on. I hope the 10 miles I completed today is a good test for what’s to come next weekend. I’ve read that when training you don’t have to run the race distance, within 2-3 miles is ok because the race day adrenaline and excitement will get you through the last few. Hard to believe I’ll be adding another 2 miles onto what I did today, but I am ready. I know what my body is capable of and that I’ll finish… I just hope I don’t finish last!

Here’s me in the car right before I dismantle Mr. Holter and send him back to where he belongs (the Nashville Centennial Heart doctors).

This is a dark photo, but you may notice I have a thing for stretchy headbands. They’re the best running bands EVER. (that I have tried) I want to try Sweaty Bands cause they’re super cute with their fancy designs but I just can’t get over the price ($18 not including tax/shipping) when these Goody brand bands cost $5 for 3 and they work like a charm!

But in case someone out there wants to buy me a present for all my hard work running and what not… this is my top choice- Chakra Dots.

via Sweaty Bands website

Sweaty Band Thick Headbands

How cute is that design?? A-freakin’-dorable.

Happy WEEKEND everyone!!!

This entry was posted in Running, Stuff I Want and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m a Beast!

  1. Michelle says:

    Nice job! You ARE a beast!! Thanks for the recommendation on the headbands- my under armor ones don’t really cut it anymore. And they give me a headache! I’ll try the cheap CVS ones. 🙂
    Nothing wrong with going to sleep extra early tonight, if you can tear yourself away from Army Wives…

  2. Jane Eboch says:

    You are AWESOME, Honey!!!. I’ll be happy to buy you the headband. So proud of you. Love, Mom

  3. Anna says:

    Love love love everything about this post!

  4. Jess says:

    Way to go girl! It’s almost scary how we are practically the same person!!! I too have horrible asthma that is triggered by the exact same things. So horrible that I am supposed to take my nebulizer every 4 hours! I too love singular and God bless advair! Although I still have attacks…

    I had heart surgery at 11 and I never would have dreamed I would run… I can completely understand how great you feel when you accomplish major goals like this! I’m so proud of you!

    I had heart surgery when I was 11… I never thought I would be able to run or even spend longer than 15 minutes doing any type of cardio.

    • That is crazy!!! I’m glad you’ve been meeting some personal goals as well despite your health concerns. It feels good to be in charge of our bodies for once, instead of the other way around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

