House Projects – Part 1

These are all projects completed earlier this year up until last weekend. I don’t take lots of “during” pictures but I do love me some BEFORE & AFTER’s! I’ll provide those when I can, do not fret.

And we’re off!

(Oh, and heads up. I love lists. I will use lists on my blog whenever and wherever possible. I’m a stickler for organization.)

1. Yarn Wreaths – Christmas presents for Michelle & Momma


Along with 85,000 other women in the blog world, I created some yarn wreaths I originally saw on Danielle’s Take Heart blog. The left I gave to my sister (and made another for myself) and the right one was a gift to my Mom. Danielle has a great tutorial so I won’t bore you with another one here. You should do this though. It’s easy to get done while watching tv… and the felt flowers are kinda addictive.

2. Candles turned into fun kitchen jars! Found on k.f.d. designs (I tell you, NOTHING I do is original!)ย  Let this be a lesson to you all. Don’t skimp on the painting tape. Just by the green Froggy stuff. It’s the only brand that works… Case in Point. For this project, I sectioned off the portion I wanted to be writeable on the top and bottom and rolled the chalkboard paint on the exposed areas. I like the fact that I didn’t trash these candle jars and instead use them to house various kitchen items. This was taken a few months ago. Now they house my Starbucks Via, dog treats and rubber bands. Things change real fast around here people. You better get used to it.

3. Ceiling Medallions as Wall Art!

๏ปฟ

Fell in love with the idea from Knack. Copied it pretty much to a tee, even the yellow paint, but only cause it was a color that worked in our living room and I already had the spray paint! I was sad I couldn’t find any medallions without holes, but I’m still really thrilled with how they turned out. I’m going to Lowe’s this weekend to see if they have any larger ones with different designs than those at Home Depot. (Disclaimer: I shop at Home Depot exclusively because of their Fuel Rewards. For every $100, you save $.10 on gas. I did a happy dance while pumping last week when I saved $.50 a gallon! Yahoooo!!)

4. Framed handkerchief both from Goodwill. I spray painted the frame and used Stiffen Stuff stiffening spray on the fabric. (Side note: I tried to cheat and NOT stiffen the kerchief, but it kept sliding around and looked really novice.) My friend Carolyn (who blogs at Tszujjing It Up) did the same project with towels. I have two frames set aside for a similar project. I love the fabric she used in hers!

5. Cork Board & Chalk Board

As everyone in my family knows, this has not only been a joint effort but has taken literally YEARS to complete. I’ve been collecting corks since 2005. SIX YEARS!!! I ended up using 576 corks in total for this beautiful piece of artwork. I actually made the frame as well with a flat 2×2 board and 1″ pieces of wood cut to size and stained. I glued it all together (boards and corks) with Elmer’s Wood Glue. I can’t bear to actually stick pins in it though, so it will be used as a piece of art instead of a bulletin board. Thank you to everyone in my family for being the winos you are and helping me complete this!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Spray paint is my best friend. It can be yours too if you play your cards right. Frame was spray painted and then I taped it off and rolled chalkboard paint onto the “art”. It now hangs next to our back door. This particular frame came without glass so it was perfect for this project. Ryan jokes because the only things we write on the board are “Welcome Home”. I still think it’s a nice decorative piece.

 

 

 

Ok. I think we are up to date on all my “major” projects thus far in the house. From now on, I will do my best at documenting the progress and showing you all my fabulous adventures. Welcome to my life. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Camper, Creativity, DITY, Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to House Projects – Part 1

  1. Kristen says:

    loving your blog and all of your fun projects! i bet it keeps you busy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Michelle says:

    I’m hiring you to decorate my house. You are WAY more creative than I could ever hope to be!

    • Melissa Amato says:

      Well thank you, but most of these ideas aren’t even mine! I just have a good eye for projects. Watch enough HGTV and read the blogs on my Blogroll- you’ll get all you need. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

