Wedding Gifts

I had a number of very important people in my life get hitched in 2010… not to each other, but nontheless still a very good year in the marriage category. First, my baby sister got hitched in May over Memorial Day in New Hampshire.

Then, my best friend got married in May and again in October in Virginia.

Photo by Jenni Green

Finally, my other best friend /little brother got hitched 10.10.10 in OBX.

 

Photo by Billy Tidwell

On a related note, I’ve been craving this piece by Sugar Boo:

via sugarboo.com

but felt the $300 price tag was a bit steep for my liking. I have yet to recreate this one for myself, but was able to paint/make/breathe life into a few pieces as wedding gifts for my best friend and brother. I’m not leaving my sister out, she got something else. πŸ™‚ But I should probably paint her one too before I start to feel guilty.

I recreated this piece-

 

 

 

 

 

 

into this by a happy accident!

My stenciling got a little distracted and I missed the repeated line, but I personally like how it turned out. Though my husband, a musician, cannot get past the missing line, I think it looks fantastic. It’s now hanging in my brother & sister-in-law’s bedroom.

This second piece I completed for Lauren & her husband Brian just this weekend. I know, they’re coming up on their 1 year anniversary (JOP wedding) but I figured better late than never! We’re still working on her wedding gift to me (our album) from 12.2007! Let’s just say, that’s what best friends are for.

Here’s a breakdown of what I did:

1. Purchased 2×2 wood pieces from Home Depot. I chose them based on grain pattern and what I thought would look best, based on the piece I was doing.

2. Milk paint for the base color. This stuff is awesome! It comes in powdered form and I added water in a 1:1 ratio. You can water it down to your liking for less coverage. I did a heavier coat for my brother’s piece and a lighter one for Lauren’s.

3. Collected my tools: stencils, SHARP pencils and good stencil brushes

4. Once the base color dried, I mapped out my lettering and got to work. This is all very technical and involved but I also recommend having a large eraser on hand… you know, just in case you happen to run out of room when you’re only halfway done with a word or something like that.

5. Painted in the stenciled letters. I tried to do this with the stencil still on the wood, but found it better to just free hand it. The finished product is not perfect, but that adds to the charm.

6. For Joshua’s I left the painting as is. With Lauren’s, I didn’t like how the lettering stood out on the piece so I white washed it using very watered down cream milk paint. It ended up smearing some of the lettering, making it look weathered and I’m really happy with the result!

7. Finally, I secured fasteners on the back to hang the piece on the wall. I also put little rubber circles on the corner to ensure it didn’t mark up anyone’s wall when they hung it up.

And that’s it!

I have one last piece to do but I’m still mapping out the lettering. Will post a picture when it’s completed.

This entry was posted in Creativity, DITY, Family, Friends, Weddings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding Gifts

  1. Michelle says:

    yes! you should make your baby sister one, too!! πŸ˜€ I’ll take any of the above quotes, or anything from our first/last dance. πŸ™‚

  2. Jane Eboch says:

    Both are beautiful. Maybe you and I can open a little craft business when I retire….

Leave a Reply

