Pinterest Projects: Round Two

17 Jul

In this edition of Pinterest Projects I’m going to share my successes as well as failures. Thankfully I’ve had more of the former and less of the latter. So far I’ve been focusing more on the food portion of Pinterest but I’m hoping with Liam becoming more independent, I’ll be able to do some house projects as well. Already this week I’ve painted the dresser that we use as the downstairs diaper change staging area. It’s been sitting on my To Do list for, oh… 7 months? :) Back to Pinterest-

The Good

Cauliflower Rice

I am obsessed with cauliflower. I probably eat 1-2 heads a week. Usually I just roast it with olive oil and salt, sometimes I also add curry powder, but when I stumbled upon this low-carb alternative to rice, I had to try it. And I love it! It’s quick and super easy and I prefer it to the taste of rice.

Sassy Water

This is one of those “recipes” on Pinterest I’m often like… DUH. Who needs instructions for this? But Pinterest is not just instructions, it’s also a place to organize ideas. Seeing the picture of this reminded me I wanted to make some flavored water. I made a half gallon of this and drank it all within the day. I used lime instead of lemon and added it individually to the glasses because I find when lime sits in water it gets really bitter. I forgot the mint and it was still yummy!

Vanilla Chai Breakfast Shake

Chocolate Covered Katie has a ton of yummy dairy-free milkshake recipe ideas. I’ve used many of them since cutting back on my dairy intake. This is one of my favorites. I also love the strawberry. I have the pineapple float with coconut ice cream on my list for the next round of Pinterest Projects.

Paleo Zucchini Boats

Emily is one of my dear friends and my go-to for many recipe and food ideas. These zucchini boats have been a regular in my lunch rotation for months now. I make 4-6 and freeze them. This way if Liam needs a lot of holding that day and I can’t cook, I can still have a super delicious lunch that is healthy and full of protein.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

More cauliflower? Yes! Another low-carb swap that is delicious and Ryan approved! The crust needs to be baked completely before you try to top it and I’ve found flipping it after it’s cooked on the bottom really helps the consistency of this crust.

Roasted Carrots

Loved these!!! I mentioned to Ryan a few weeks ago that we never have cooked carrots as a side for dinner. I don’t know if it’s cause we didn’t really eat them when I was a kid, but I figured I’d give it a shot. These are delicious! I’m obsessed with roasting anything and everything and these have been added to that list.

Super Easy Salsa

Ryan loves to make fresh salsa but often spends an hour doing it between chopping the tomatoes, peppers, cilantro, etc. We used the food processor this time and yeah… never chopping again. This recipe calls for canned tomatoes but we used fresh. It’s delicious and a more even taste than a chunkier pico de gallo type salsa we used to make. Highly recommended!

The Bad

Dehydrated Strawberries

I wish I would’ve taken a picture of the atrocity that my strawberries were because it was bad. They were black and gross. Recipe says 3 hours at 210` but I ended up having to cook them for closer to 5 to get them dried but then they were burnt. Don’t make these, it’s a waste of food.

Crockpot Mac & Cheese

This wasn’t very good. I think the egg included made it taste gross but I ended up trashing this because it wasn’t what I expected. The website says it’s more of a “custard” type dish, which it is, so just be prepared for that.

Fruit & Veggie Wash

This didn’t do anything. The grapes were still coated with gunk and the apples were waxy after soaking. I usually wash my fruits & vegetables with Dr. Bronner’s castille lemon soap. You can pick up a jug of it at Trader Joe’s for super cheap.

That’s it for now. Happy Pinning! And get out there and make some of those pins!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 754 other followers

