Pinterest

18 Jun

Not sure how many of you out there are as obsessed with this wonderful tool as I am, but I love it! It’s so much easier to keep track of my “To Do One Day” than with various folders on my email. It’s visually stimulating and not as much of a time suck as Facebook or Twitter. I’ve made it my goal the past few weeks to actually do or make the things I pin and not just forget about them. Once a week I’m going to try and share the things I’ve done to keep myself motivated to blog and provide my readers with some good ideas and yummy food recipes!

Here are some recipes I’ve made in the past few weeks with my thoughts. I’m linking rather than re-typing the recipes so you’ll visit the original poster’s website. Scrolling through, I’m starting to realize how I’ve put on 10 lbs!

Grain Free Doughnuts by Gluten Free Girl

pic via Gluten Free Girl

Yum. Yum. YUM. Make these. Mine came out lighter than those pictured above, probably due to the almond flour I used. I ate them without powdered sugar but that was because I brought them in the car. These were not only a hit with me, my mom and my grandma but also my dad. THE DON liked these grain free doughnuts. This is a big deal for those who know my Daddy and should show you how “normal” they taste. They’re much more filling and satisfying than your typical Dunkin’ Donut or Krispy Kreme, in my opinion. Of course, they’re not as sweet either but I actually felt good about eating these donuts.

There are a few other recipes I’m hoping to try out since getting my new pan.

Bacon Braised Brussels Sprouts with Creamy Horseradish Sauce by Food Strong

pic via Food Strong

I love Brussels sprouts. Like LOVE them. I have a favorite recipe from A Year of Slow Cooking and I’ve made many, many times over. You can find it HERE.

On to this recipe. I thought I would love it. I really wanted to love it. I did not love it. I’m not sure if it was the fact the bacon ended up not being as crispy as I’d hoped but it kinda ruined the dish for me. The roasted Brussels sprouts were yummy but didn’t have much of a flavor until the sauce came into play. I used sour cream for the creamy horseradish sauce and it was delicious. I could eat the sauce alone by the spoonful. I probably wouldn’t make the dish again as the recipe stands. I’ll cook the bacon separately and add it at the end, once it’s already crispy and delicious.

Grain Free Double Chocolate Brownies by A Home in the Making

via A Home in the Making

These things kick ass. Ryan ate about half the pan, even after finding out they’re Paleo. I halved the recipe and it was a big enough pan for us. It uses a lot of almond butter (calls for 16 oz) but it’s worth it. I used agave syrup and Hershey’s dark chocolate chips. My mouth is watering just thinking about this. I need another pan. It’s healthy, right? The only thing I missed while eating these was the tall glass of cold milk to go along with it.

Cake Batter Cookies by Stephanie Cooks

pic via Stephanie Cooks

I’m kind of an Amazon addict. There I said it. I buy anything and everything on Amazon. You would get a kick out of my 30 day shopping history- oil filters & car oil, granola bars, trail mix, baking mix, razor blades, doughnut pan, vitamins, dog food, almond butter, nursing pads, and a case of gluten free cake mix. The last item is the important one in this featured recipe. It’s a quick and easy way to make cookies but they do taste kinda weird. Not my favorite. They’d do in a pinch but I won’t be making it again.

If you’re still interested in using cake mix to make cookies, try Adventures of a DIY Mom’s recipe for Cake Batter Snickerdoodles. For some reason, the cake batter flavor works better with the snickerdoodle cookie than the chocolate chip.

Warm Bean Dip by Life as a Lofthouse

pic via Life as a Lofthouse

Toted on Pinterest as “Texas Trash”, this stuff is good. I brought it as an appetizer for a dinner get together and everyone loved it. I used the leftovers for burritos later in the week. The only things I did differently was making the refried beans from scratch which was SUPER easy with canned beans and leftover bacon grease. I also bought a shredded blend of Mexican cheese. As long as you’re not trying to cut back on dairy like I am now, this is bound to be a hit with everyone.

Iced Coffee by Craving Comfort

pic via Craving Comfort

Some of you might not know that I worked at Starbucks for a few years back in college and again when we were in Nashville. I’m a bit of a coffee snob and most things I try to make a home do not stack up. This recipe does. I guess it’s the cold brewing of the coffee that makes it so delicious but if you’re like my dad, you won’t even need milk with this coffee. There is no bitterness like when you hot brew a cup and let it cool. It was messy when the time came to strain the coffee grounds but after a few times, I’m sure it gets easier.

I wasn’t a fan of the cream featured on this recipe and ended up using some vanilla syrup and half & half. I want to try this Vanilla-Almond Iced Coffee using almond or coconut milk instead of the half & half.  Sweetened condensed milk seems to be ok for me, I had some in a Cuban coffee and a Thai coffee without issue while in Richmond last week but I can’t use that as my sole mixer since I’m also trying to cut back on sugar! Oye… I’m still experimenting with my morning coffee ritual since cutting milk dairy. It’s tough for me, I won’t lie!

So I hope this post has introduced you to some new recipes you’ll try after my experimentation and reviews. This next week I’ll continue to focus on primal/Paleo and gluten-free recipes which are still delicious and easy to make.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

