Knocked Up – Week 31

21 Dec

Weight: 157 (+27 lbs) I can feel every last pound of this these days.

Baby size & weight:

During your 31st week of pregnancy, your baby’s body and brain continue to make the connections that enable his systems to work as a whole. Also when you’re 31 weeks pregnant:

  • Your baby weighs more than 3 pounds and is 11 inches long from crown to rump, which is about the length of a bunch of bok choy (a type of Chinese cabbage).
  • Your baby’s reproductive system continues to develop. In boys, testicles are moving from the kidneys through the groin to the scrotum.
  • Your baby’s lungs are now more developed but are not completely mature.
  • As trillions of brain connections develop, your baby is already using all five senses.
  • You might notice that your baby has more defined periods of being awake (and active) or asleep.

Physical: Oh how do I hurt. My back, hips & pelvis ache pretty much constantly. I’ve been to my chiropractor since being home but walking is pretty painful and I look rather pathetic.

Emotional: Definitely happy to be home for Christmas and starting to really embrace the fact we’re going to be parents in a few weeks. It’s down to WEEKS in my book because it’s less than 10 and that is really soon. We cannot wait to meet our little one, no matter how he arrives, as long as he’s safe and sound, we are going to be thrilled.

Activity: Swimming! Swimming has been happening and it is glorious. I feel so weightless in the water, though my stamina is much lower than it was when I swam before I got pregnant, I’m thrilled to be able to do something physical without my entire body hurting. Shopping, running errands and sitting around has also been happening.

Baby Prep: Working on a few sewing projects while I have extra time on my hands, reading the Baby Book by Dr. Sears and thrifting at the awesome stores here in NOVA.

Birth Prep: Went to see my OB (see last week’s post) and I absolutely love her. She is low intervention and very knowledgable about many of the things I would like even if we give birth in the hospital (delayed cord clamping, skin-to-skin, intermittent monitoring, various laboring positions, etc). She calculated my due date as 2/7 based on my LMP but the midwife’s is most likely more accurate (2/21) though I have a feeling I’m going to give birth before the 21st. She is up for being my back-up doctor and fully supports my desire to have a homebirth. I feel so much better knowing she’ll be there should a transfer be necessary.

Supplements: Rainbow Light Prenatal, Trader Joe’s Omega 3, Mother to Be tea, Trader Joe’s Folic Acid, B6 & B12, and liquid D3 (5,000 IU)

Cravings: back on my chocolate kick. Anything high quality. Ice cream. Bread (even though it makes me feel like crap). Clementines (I eat 5-6 a day). Baby carrots. Apples & cheese.

Diana of Studio Diana took some shots of me the other day and at first I wasn’t going to share them but honestly, I’m thrilled with how they turned out. These days, I feel so uncomfortable in my own skin so just looking at these make me realize how beautiful pregnancy is. And I feel honored to be pregnant and carrying our son for these nine months. So here they are!

And one with clothes! :)

One Response to “Knocked Up – Week 31”

  1. bearrunner February 10, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    beautiful shot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

