Ch-Ch-Chobani

18 Apr

Have ya’ll heard of this stuff?? Chobani Greek Yogurt?

Oh wow. What did I ever do before you came along, sweet, sweet Chobani? This is the Greek yogurt to end all Greek yogurts. I remember the first time I had a taste of this wondrous elixir… I was visiting my parent’s house for the night and in the morning my mom insisted I eat some breakfast (which I rarely d0… I know, I know “most important meal of the day, blah, blah). And wow! I was sold. I came back to Nashville and proceeded to hit up every chain of grocery stores in the area in a vain attempt to find it. I visited Costco, Kroger, Whole Foods, Food Lion, Save-a-Lot and Target. Wal-Mart didn’t have it, neither did Harris Teeter or Trader Joe’s. What was a girl to do? Well, while at work one evening (I worked at Starbucks briefly during the holiday season) I saw a co-worker pull out a Strawberry Chobani!

“Where! Did! You! Get! That!?” I calmly asked.

“Publix.”

Of course. The one grocery store I failed to check. Probably cause the only one I know of is tucked ever so inconspicuously off the main road in a shopping center that hosts nothing but a Blue Coast Burrito (YUCK) and a long-closed Pet Supermarket. Well, I ran to the store the next day and lo and behold… CHOBANI! As far as the eye could see. I got one of every flavor they had.

On a side note, Publix has now become my grocer of choice. They are clean, kind, and have an amazing selection. When I go into Kroger I just feel dirty… like I sold my soul to shop there or something. It’s hard to explain.

Anyway, so Pineapple Chobani quickly rose to the top of my list. The combination of sweet pineapple chunks with the not-so-sweet thick yogurt is too delicious to try and put into words. You simply must try it for yourself. The thing I love about this yogurt is the fact it is not overly sweet and yet doesn’t add fake shit in it like aspartame instead of sugar. They add good ole’ evaporated cane juice. The result is delectable.

There is more to this love story though because on a recent shopping trip, I came across a new addition to the Chobani family… Baby Chobani!! Welcome to the world, little one. Of course, I had to try the flavor since the combination was not one featured before.

They come in four packs and are seriously the cutest little yogurts you ever did see. The Mom & Pop Chobani are 6 oz, Baby Chobani is 3.5. And Honey and Banana… wow, what a combination. I will be rotating these along with the Pineapple.

Chobani has other flavors as well: 0% fat: Peach, Strawberry, Blueberry, Pomegranate, Lemon, Vanilla, Honey, Raspberry, Black Cherry & Plain; 2% Pineapple, Mango, Strawberry/Banana & Plain.  They also make another Chobani Champions in VerryBerry.

I liked the Peach, Strawberry, Blueberry, Strawberry/Banana and Honey

Not a huge fan of: Vanilla (I learned I really like the fruit on the bottom but liked the Honey… I’m weird)

Haven’t tried: Black Cherry, Raspberry, Pomegranate, Lemon, Mango (None of them sound very appetizing to me)

I use the plain when I make cucumber sauce. It’s the perfect single portion for me.

________________________________________________________________________________________

Here is the explanation of WHY Chobani is superior to other yogurts (via Chobani’s About page):

We make Chobani Greek Yogurt deep in the rolling hills of Upstate New York. Our expert team is committed to bringing you products made with only natural ingredients that are not only the highest quality but also taste great too.

Here at Chobani, our secret isn’t an ingredient but a passion and love for what we do…and a man who goes by the name of Mustafa. Mustafa Dogan is Chobani’s Master Yogurt Maker. He’s an artisan armed with years of yogurt-making experience and is responsible for crafting the rich, deliciousness that is Chobani.

Mustafa custom blends special yogurt cultures just for Chobani. We add these to the milk that we receive daily from local farms to make yogurt. We then strain this yogurt to make it outrageously creamy and ridiculously high in protein.

This unique straining process is what makes Chobani Greek Yogurt “Greek” and full of flavor and health benefits:

·      All natural. No preservatives. No artificial flavors.
·      Free of synthetic growth hormones: No rBST-treated milk.
·      Includes 5 live & active cultures, including 3 probiotics.
·      Made with real fruit.
·      Twice the protein of regular yogurts.
·      A good source of bone-building calcium.
·      Gluten-Free and Kosher-Certified.
·      Safe for people with corn, nut and soy allergies.

Here’s some info  Agro Farma, Chobani’s parent company… cause I always want to know where my food comes from… don’t you?

And if you didn’t love them enough cause they’re product is so delicious and high quality, here’s some info about the charitable foundation, Shepherd’s Gift, created to give back.

Their Story:

Shepherd’s Gift is a charitable foundation created in honor of my mother. She lived her life in the spirit of the shepherd – as someone who gave expecting nothing in return. She wore a mark on her forehead and everyone said this “third eye” made her more in touch with the feelings of others. Her mark is symbolized above the word Gift in our logo.

My mother taught me the value of a shepherd’s gift, and that’s something I always carried with me and my work. In 2010, I founded Shepherd’s Gift, which gives 10% of all Chobani profits to people who are working for positive, lasting change. I’m hopeful these shepherds will carry on the gift of giving the same way my mother taught me.

-Hamdi

Their Manifesto:

We believe in passionate people.

People who give selflessly and unconditionally.

In Eastern culture, shepherds are known to share generously with others, even when they don’t have much themselves. It’s on this principle that The Shepherd’s Gift was founded.

We’re focused on solutions, not problems.

On individuals over institutions.

Because if you think about it, we’re all connected in one way shape or form.

We’re not a charity. We’re not even asking for your money. We just want you to know that there are still shepherds out there.

So we seek out small non-profits and grassroots groups with a human element.

Groups filled with shepherds.

Because it’s the shepherds that can make a real difference.

Charities They Support:

Action for Healthy Kids® is a network of caring volunteers, or shepherds, who are on a mission to make schools healthier places where kids learn to eat right and be active from an early age. They believe in making long-term change by getting kids to adopt small, healthy habits now that can affect them for a lifetime. It all starts with small steps – things like giving teachers fun ways to integrate healthy-eating into their class’s curriculum or creating after-school programs that get kids moving in engaging ways.

Swim Across America is a small, grassroots organization that utilizes the inspirational power of sport to make a difference in the world of cancer research. Every year, thousands of swimmers, ranging from ages 7 to 78 and from Olympians to beginners, take part in dozens of swimming events across the U.S. From swimming under the Golden Gate bridge to swimming the Boston Harbour. With every swim and every stroke they get one step closer to stopping cancer.

Project Baseball is one of Shepherd’s Gift’s initiatives to give back to Chobani’s hometown, New Berlin, NY. Like many small towns in America, New Berlin, has faced troubled times and budget cuts that left many of the town’s public places rundown and in need of some love. One of those such places is the community’s baseball field where the local children and Little League gather to play. That’s why Shepherd’s Gift partnered with the Town of New Berlin and the head Little League coach, name, to overhaul and rebuild the ballpark.

Become a Shepherd in your own community.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

If this post doesn’t make you want to go out and immediately buy a case of Chobani then I don’t know what will!

I know! A coupon!

My personal opinion is this: their slogan is “nothing but good.” and frankly, I must whole heartedly agree.

In Mediterranean languages, Chobani, or “chopani,” is the word for shepherd. This particular word holds great meaning to us, as shepherds are known for their generosity and unconditional way of giving. It is our goal for our new foundation to be able to give like the shepherds do- with great care, passion, and absolutely no expectation of anything in return. (via Chobani website)

________________________________________________________________________________________

I was not paid or compensated in any way for my reviews or extremely positive opinions in this post. I just love to share my love for really great stuff with the people in my life. There’s so much crap out there (most of it being shit, poor quality, overpriced, etc) so when I come across something I feel is worth my hard-earned money, I want to pass it along to as many people as I can. Feel the love, my friends.

4 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Chobani”

  1. Erica April 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Don’t knock the pomegranate til you’ve tried it – yuuuuummmm!

    • togetherwearehome April 18, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Okay, okay I’ll get it next time I’m at the store! If you recommend it, I’m willing to give it a shot. :)

  2. The Don April 19, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Thanks for sharing about the Shepherds Gift. I hope that if the company ever becomes wildly succesful they don’t go public so they won’t be forced to PC their charitable efforts. Your Mom and at least 3 of your 5 siblings all eat Chobani yogurt … IMHO that’s more than enough participation for one family :) Gonna go get me a Yoplait.

    • togetherwearehome April 19, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      Oh Dad… ever the skeptic. I wonder where I got it from.
      Have you ever tried Chobani?! You would never be able to go back to crappy Yoplait if you’d give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

