Kitchen Cart- Done!

3 Mar

So I ended up going with Truly Teal by Glidden with a High Gloss finish for the kitchen cart. I was going to stain it, but when I realized how much that Ikea varnish did not want to let go, I was forced to re-think my options. I loved the earlier picture I posted of the bright teal cart and found myself leaning more towards those colors when I was in Home Depot. The Truly Teal ended up being  a perfect match for our rug (obtained at Southern Salvage).

Once I finished sanding, I primed using God’s gift to painters – KILZ. I put two coats of the teal on and love the way it turned out!

ikea.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As far as the top, it’s hard to see the shiny finish, but the tung oil did a fantastic job of really finishing the piece. It feels like a real item of furniture instead of this crappy kitchen cart with no identity. On to the table and chairs this weekend… if the rain holds out for me.

3 Responses to “Kitchen Cart- Done!”

  1. Michelle March 3, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    obviously we’re sisters, because I LOVE teal in a kitchen too. This is so cute! You are hired to decorate my future place. :)

  2. Jane Eboch March 8, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    WOW! That looks great.

  3. theadventuresofe November 9, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    WOW! We have similar taste. I don’t know you, but was looking for a teal kitchen cart and stumbled upon your blog… which looks similar to mine.

    And you have a Bucket List!

    http://theadventuresofe.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 754 other followers

